Six Officials from the Former Government to be Released

Alexandra Valiente
Viva Libya!

The Supreme Court announced that it will release six senior officials of the former government who had been detained without trial for the past five years, charged with suppression of the NATO-backed February 17th overthrow of the legitimate government in 2011. They include Mohamed Belkacem Zwai (former minister), Hafiz Zlitni (former minister and former governor of the Central Bank), Muhammad Ahmed al-Sharif (former minister), Abdul Majeed Almzouka, Ammar Mabrouk (former minister), and Hosni Louhichi.

The Attorney General in Tripoli said that since their trials had been postponed indefinitely the Court decided to honor the request of their lawyers and suspend imprisonment because of their age and fragile health.
In May, the UN Working Group on Arbitrary Detention called for the immediate release of Al Hadba prisoners, stating their detention (and trials) have violated all international laws and norms.

They also called for the release of Dr. Dorda, Saadi Gaddafi and others, referring the matter to the Special Rapporteur on Torture.

CjSgLaCXEAEy_Iq.jpg large
No new decisions are forthcoming where detainees were sentenced to death by firing squad, despite the fact that they were denied a fair trial and had been tortured.

© Copyright 2016 Viva Libya!